Fujitsu ScanSnap iX500 Review

ScanSnap iX500 topIf there is one thing I am happy about in 2013, it is that I don’t have to answer[1] the question “When is Fujitsu coming out with a replacement for the ScanSnap S1500?” anymore. That is because today they have announced the ScanSnap iX500, their new desktop document scanner.

Fujitsu hooked me up with a review unit, so let’s check it out.

One iX500 To Rule Them All

Like their last two scanners, the personal S1300i and the portable S1100, Fujitsu has done away with the separate Mac and Windows models. There is now just one black model that works on both Windows and the Mac.

This simplifies things greatly for those that are trying to decide which model to get, but it does have some software implications that I will get into below.

ScanSnap iX500 open
ScanSnap iX500 open

Speed

The first difference between the iX500 and its predecessors is speed. It scans at 25 pages per minute, as opposed to the S1500’s 20ppm and the S1300i’s 12ppm.

They’ve moved much of the processing to a new chip that they call the GI Processor, and most importantly (for me, anyways), they’ve moved OCR processing to a parallel process which means it starts while the scanning is occurring. This means no more long waits for documents to be made searchable after you finish scanning.

I’ve scanned large-ish documents and having been in the ScanSnap ecosystem since 2008 (using the S300M, S1300, and S1300i), I was in shock how fast both the scanning and processing was.

More on OCR in a bit.

Wireless Scanning

This is the feature of the ScanSnap iX500 that is probably going to get the most press.

You have been able to use your ScanSnap with the ScanSnap Connect mobile app for quite some time, but it was indirect – the scanner needed to be plugged in to your computer, and your computer was the one doing the communicating.

The iX500 has a Wi-Fi chip built-in (the aforementioned GI Processor), and can communicate directly with an iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch, or Android device.

There is a Wi-Fi switch at the back of the scanner, and there is a light at the front of the scanner that lets you know when you are connected.

ScanSnap iX500 Wi-Fi Light
ScanSnap iX500 Wi-Fi Light

When you install the ScanSnap software on your computer, it asks you if you want to set the iX500 up on your wireless network, and steps you through getting it set up. Once you’ve done that, you can totally cut the computer out of the equation.

ScanSnap iX500 Want Wireless
ScanSnap iX500 Want Wireless

I made a video that shows how it works. The video shows scanning to an iPad, but it is the same deal with any other iOS or Android device. Click here to watch it on YouTube.

As it stands right now, wi-fi scanning only works scanning to an iOS or Android device. It would be cool if they made it so that you could scan to a computer too, but that is not how it works right now.

Update 07/30/2013: The iX500 now supports wi-fi scanning to a Mac or Windows computer!

Background OCR

As I mentioned earlier, the ScanSnap iX500 ships with software that makes OCR much faster. However, for Mac users, there is an extra enhancement.

Windows users have always been able to have background OCR using ScanSnap Organizer. You could scan to the Organizer software and let it do its thing while you keep scanning or working.

Since ScanSnap Organizer is Windows only, Mac users have been out of luck unless we did some wacky background OCR hacks.

The iX500 ships with the Mac Searchable PDF Converter. I’ll have another post about that as I play with it, but basically it does what the name says: it lets you scan to a folder and have OCR run in the background when the computer is idle.

Mac Searchable PDF Converter
Mac Searchable PDF Converter

Software

The iX500 comes with some some software enhancements and some (cough) changes.

Enhanced Quick Menu

I am not personally a Quick Menu user, but it is definitely helpful for newer or less tech-savvy users. The first change they made is to make the Quick Menu try to detect what type of document you are scanning. For example, I threw in a business card and it helpfully suggested CardMinder.

ScanSnap iX500 Quick Menu
ScanSnap iX500 Quick Menu

You can also control the order that Quick Menu entries appear in, and you can now add your own applications to the Quick Menu which is pretty cool. Hit the gear icon to do this.

CardMinder for Mac

Speaking of CardMinder, the Mac version of CardMinder is now the business card application that ships with the iX500. I don’t have much to say about this as I am not a big bizcard guy. If you’d like me to do a post about this and dig in further, leave a note in the comments.

Bundled Software

The ScanSnap iX500 comes with the following software:

  • ScanSnap Organizer (Windows)
  • CardMinder (Windows, Mac)
  • ABBYY FineReader for ScanSnap (Windows, Mac)
  • Acrobat X Standard (Windows)
  • ABBYY FineReader Express (Mac)

It also comes with the cloud scanning abilities that have been added to the ScanSnap line over the past few years: Scan To Evernote, Dropbox, SugarSync, Google Docs, Sharepoint, etc.

Perceptive Mac readers will notice something right away: the ScanSnap iX500 does not ship with a Mac version of Adobe Acrobat. I always wondered how Fujitsu would handle this when they inevitably moved to a hybrid desktop ScanSnap, and now we know.

I can definitely see some Mac users getting cranky about this, so it will be interesting to see what the reaction will be. The line with the desktop ScanSnaps was always “Sure they are a bit expensive, but they come with a full version of Acrobat. That’s $300 right there!” Now for Mac users at least, that is no longer true.

If you are a Mac user and want something Acrobat-y for much less money, you might want to check out PDFPen.

Paper Management

In addition to the speed and wireless scanning enhancements, Fujitsu has made some improvements to paper handling with the ScanSnap iX500.

They’ve replaced the pad assembly with brake rollers. Apparently this is something they brought in from the higher-level scanners. I certainly didn’t have any paper feed issues in my tests.

They also made it so that the ScanSnap can handle heavier paper and even plastic cards. I threw in my REI card and it fed it through easily.

There is a new setting for bleed through detection, if you have paper that might be susceptible to that sort of thing.

Availability

So far, I don’t see the ScanSnap iX500 on any of the online shopping sites, but I will update it when it is available. The suggested retail price is $495.

It looks like the iX500 is showing up on Amazon now. At the time of writing this it doesn’t have a picture yet, but it is sold by Amazon, so it seems to be legit.

Like all ScanSnaps, the iX500 does not support TWAIN, so if you think you need it, give the ScanSnap Folder functionality a look. If that still does not meet your needs, you will probably need to look elsewhere.

However, if you’ve been holding out for an S1500 replacement, now you have one. This is the fastest consumer level ScanSnap they’ve released, and the wireless scanning works well. They’ve added features while still making it fast and easy to use. I really like it.


  1. Or more accurately, not answer since I had no idea.  ↩

Want More Help With Going Paperless?
  • Receive my free guide 4 Ways To Tame Your Documents. 
  • Receive my popular free Paper Cuts newsletter.
  • Receive my free 7 part Paper Sanity e-Course. 

86 Responses to “Fujitsu ScanSnap iX500 Review”

  1. Michael F January 7, 2013 at 7:08 am #

    Sounds great. Is there any chance that the new software will be available to owners of previous scanners, such as S1500M?

    • BrooksD January 7, 2013 at 7:30 am #

      Great question. I asked Fujitsu that too, and they said no because some of it apparently relies on the new chip in the iX500. I'd wait and see though,who knows?

  2. Dave M January 7, 2013 at 7:09 am #

    Brooks,
    Great review – very helpful! As a Mac user, what are the implications of Adobe Acrobat not being included? What can it do that Mac Preview can not? Thanks, Dave

    • BrooksD January 7, 2013 at 7:32 am #

      Well, I personally have never owned Acrobat and I've never really missed it. Preview can do almost everything you need nowadays, and for those extra things I have been able to use PDFPen. Having said that, I don't do anything super complex, so for those lawyer-y workflows maybe some of them would miss Acrobat (I don't think David Sparks would agree with that though).

  3. Frederic January 7, 2013 at 7:46 am #

    Could you create searchable PDF's on a Mac with the bundled software?

    • BrooksD January 7, 2013 at 7:54 am #

      You sure can. You can scan to a searchable PDF of course, but they've also included ABBYY FineReader Express which can create searchable PDFs.

  4. TomS January 7, 2013 at 9:32 am #

    I ordered the S1500M from Amazon yesterday evening after giving up waiting for this event. I wanted it for the tax season. Amazon told me to refuse tomorrow's delivery. I'd already installed the software and everything! Now, the wait for availability!

  5. @lvandekrol January 7, 2013 at 10:40 am #

    Thanks for the great review Brooks! Hopefully this is the next step towards fully wireless scanner (to computer as you mentioned).

  6. TomS January 7, 2013 at 11:01 am #

    …and, ditto the great review, Brooks! Tough question to you however. In your opinion, is the iX500 a big enough upgrade to the S1500M to warrant the wait and likely $80 up-price. Most scans will be searchable PDFs. 20ppm is fast enough and I'll not be scanning more than 100 pages/month after a 2-3 month flurry. Price is not a real issue and I've got a Mac.

    • BrooksD January 7, 2013 at 1:24 pm #

      Hmmm. I think if price is not a real issue (since who knows if the Amazon price will end up being any higher), I think I would wait for the iX500. The S1500 came out in 2009, and eventually it will get dropped from software updates like the S300/S510 line has. Might as well go with the latest hardware if you have the ability to do so.

      BUT, the S1500 is still great, so if you find a good deal you can't go wrong.

  7. JTF January 7, 2013 at 11:12 am #

    Thank you, Brooks. If I'm not mistaken the S1500M was accompanied with Adobe Acrobat 9, correct? However, the iX500 has no Acrobat version whatsoever?

    • BrooksD January 7, 2013 at 11:20 am #

      Yes, the S1500M shipped with Acrobat 9, but the iX500 only comes with Acrobat X for Windows. No Mac version.

  8. Spicer Matthews January 7, 2013 at 11:38 am #

    Thanks for bringing this to my attention. The wifi feature is killer!!

    Very excited about this new scanner.

    • BrooksD January 7, 2013 at 11:43 am #

      Thanks Spicer. It's pretty neat.

  9. Msrtin January 7, 2013 at 12:26 pm #

    "They also made it so that the ScanSnap can handle heavier paper and even plastic cards. I threw in my REI card and it fed it through easily."

    Just fyi, Brooks, the iX500 homepage (via the link in your review) has a model-comparison features/specs chart in which "Plastic Card Scanning" is not checked for this model. Among consumer models it's checked for the S1100 but not the S1300i or iX500.

    Thanks as always.

    • BrooksD January 7, 2013 at 1:22 pm #

      Hm interesting! I have a doc from them here touting it and showing a picture of them doing it. I'll have to see what is up with that. Thanks for catching that.

  10. Christi M January 7, 2013 at 1:24 pm #

    So it doesn't come with Acrobat for the Mac but if you already own Acrobat, will it work with Acrobat?

    • BrooksD January 7, 2013 at 1:21 pm #

      I don't see why not Christi. You can add whatever application you'd like into ScanSnap Manager so it should work exactly the same.

    • TheMaskedMan March 16, 2013 at 6:22 am #

      Because Fujitsu is only licensed to bundle Acrobat Standard X…….Acrobat does not make a Standard version for MAC only professional…. Not Fujitsu's fault.

  11. Dave January 7, 2013 at 4:32 pm #

    Could you ask Fujitsu if they plan to add wifi -> Mac support in a future update? That would be a killer feature, and something I would definitely upgrade for – not wasting a USB port on the scanner and also allowing it to be placed somewhere other than my already crowded desk.

  12. bill v January 8, 2013 at 6:52 am #

    I have a galaxy note II. will it work with it’s own wi-fi hotspot, or do I have to be set up on a separate wireless network?

    • BrooksD January 8, 2013 at 6:20 am #

      Hm, good question. I'd imagine the scanner wouldn't be able to tell the difference between a normal router and a hotspot, it's just wifi to it. But, I haven't tried.

    • TheMaskedMan March 16, 2013 at 6:27 am #

      As long as the Scanner and your Android/iphone/ipad or whatever phone are on the same wireless subnets it will work……

  13. Debbie January 9, 2013 at 10:28 am #

    Thanks for the great reviews of all the ScanSnaps; I just got the S1500 for Christmas, got software installed, and have begun playing around with it. I'm not sure if possible to swap it now; we purchased on 12/19. Though price tag was high, not a huge difference for the newer model. Not concerned about speed. Wifi is definitely appealing, but would be better if it worked with pc. What do you think about whether to try & swap for the newer model (if even possible now)? Thanks again for all the great info!

  14. jjpeckham January 9, 2013 at 11:45 am #

    Thanks Brooks!

    I purchased the S1500 from Costco a few months back but haven't taken it out of the box yet. I think I'll return it and get the new one, though I'll probably have to purchase it from another source, as I'm guessing Costco will get it later rather than sooner. (I just like their return policy.)

    Best regards,

    John

    • jjpeckham January 9, 2013 at 11:57 am #

      Hi me again! Actually I was one of those who asked when the new one would be out. Since Costco won't have it, I'm sure, how about getting your link up so people can purchase through this website?

      :)

  15. John G. January 9, 2013 at 12:02 pm #

    Thanks for the great review Brooks. I am a Mac user and have two unmet wishes with this product. I have not got a Doc scanner because am out of room on desktop. Would like one that works to Mac via wifi, not just iOS devices. Also as a longtime acrobat user, would like to see Fujitsu ship a Mac version of Acrobat with scanner, can't use a pc version. Will probably wait awhile to see if Fuji addresses those issues before springing for it.

    • BrooksD January 9, 2013 at 11:36 am #

      I been thinking about the Wi-Fi to Mac thing, and I really doubt Fujitsu is going to do it. The reason I think that is because I would imagine that they would be afraid of it cannibalizing sales of their network scanners, or might reduce the sales to offices. So, I would be very surprised if they end up adding the ability to scan to a Mac.As for Acrobat, I'm not sure what is going happen there, but again I will be surprised if they added it. It sounds like a licensing nightmare.But, this is all my conjecture. Who knows!

      • Robert January 16, 2013 at 10:36 am #

        Why do you say it would be a licensing nightmare for them to supply Acrobat for Mac, when they already supply it for PC? How is it any different?

        • BrooksD January 16, 2013 at 10:40 am #

          Well, again this is 100% me speaking. I have no first-hand knowledge, but now that there is only one model, what are they going to do? Ship both the Mac and Windows versions in the box? That would (I assume) become very expensive. There are ways around that of course, but it just sounds like a hassle.

    • TheMaskedMan March 16, 2013 at 6:35 am #

      Fujitsu is only licensed to bundle the Standard version of Acrobat …..there is only a Pro version made for MACS……not fujitsu's fault.

  16. foo January 11, 2013 at 4:21 pm #

    Thanks for your review Brook.

    I have a question about the OCR I hope you can answer. I currently have a ScanSnap S510 that I run with Windows 7. The scanner is pretty old now but still performs like a champ. The one thing that annoys me though is the way SnanSnap Manager performs OCR. I use Evernote to manage all my scanned PDF documents but if I scan directly into Evernote the PDF is not OCR'd by the ScanSnap software. Because of this I have to scan to ScanSnap Organiser, wait for OCR to occur on the PDF documents and THEN send the files into Evernote which I find quite frustrating.

    Which the new GI processor in the iX500, is that what is performing the OCR or is it still performed by the SnapSnap software on the computer?

    I hope the GI processor does all the OCR and PDF conversion so you have a OCR'd PDF as soon as it shows up on you PC or Mac but I can't find if this is that case or not. Can you enlighten me?

    Thanks

    • BrooksD January 14, 2013 at 2:31 pm #

      You can definitely OCR the PDF before it sends it to Evernote. You don't have to do the ScanSnap Organizer dance.

      • foo January 14, 2013 at 3:56 pm #

        Great to hear! I might consider the upgrade then.

      • Mitch M March 8, 2013 at 11:10 am #

        I'm a new user and just tried the OCR to iPad app – it's very cool. However, because it was a multi-page document and I like to mark them up with Adobe Acrobats iPad reader, I need it to be OCRd before it's sent to the iPad – is there a way to do this?

  17. John January 12, 2013 at 9:44 am #

    Brooks, I see that for $100 more, there is a "Deluxe Bundle" version available, but I can not find any information about how exactly that is different.

    Can you enlighten us?

    Thanks!

    • David January 17, 2013 at 8:04 am #

      With the S1500, the Deluxe Bundle meant inclusion of Rack2 Filer. I bought that recently with the thought it would be my central filing system, but after several trials I'm just scanning to Evernote. It has fewer restrictions and much simpler cross-platform access for pc, phones, etc. via cloud. Were I buying again I'd save the $100.

      Very good news about the ix500 OCR going to some form of parallel processing. This is long overdue. Honestly, I was stunned to see my S1500 did OCR in a single thread. It doesn't matter if it's one page, multi-sided, multi-page, or multi-document; My system's i7 barely hits 10% utilization while I wait.

    • TheMaskedMan March 16, 2013 at 6:40 am #

      It comes with an extra software, Rack2-Filer Smart V1.0 / Magic Desktop for Windows only……

  18. George January 13, 2013 at 8:02 am #

    is it possible to wireless scan from pc? or it's limited to mobile use?

    • BrooksD January 13, 2013 at 7:28 am #

      Mobile only I'm afraid. You can only scan to an iOS or android device.

    • Bongd August 13, 2013 at 6:16 am #

      As of August 2, 2013, you can now scan to PC wirelessly. You just need to update the software and firmware over the internet.

  19. Joanne January 14, 2013 at 3:22 pm #

    Is it likely they will be able to software upgrade the IX500 to scan wirelessly to a pc or will I need to wait for the next model? I'm not sure the wireless scanning to just mobile devices works for me. Maybe a cheap deal on the 1500 with the mobile app works just as well.

    • BrooksD January 14, 2013 at 2:32 pm #

      I would be very surprised if they upgraded it to be able to scan wirelessly to a computer, if only because it might cannibalize their larger network scanning business. I have no inside information on that front, just a total guess. I wouldn't hold my breath, anyways!

    • foo January 14, 2013 at 4:00 pm #

      I agree with BrooksD's comment. Fujitsu is know for their retardedness in this respect. I.e. Never releasing newer software/updates for legacy model scanners and not supporting TWAIN and only being able to connect the scanner to one computer at a time by USB.

      Hardwarewise they make greate scanners. But when they come to software and support they well and truly suck.

      • BrooksD January 14, 2013 at 4:45 pm #

        Welllllllllll in their defence, they've improved quite a bit in this regard lately. Since implementing their Online Update functionality, they've been pretty good about releasing new features to existing scanners.

        • David January 17, 2013 at 2:09 pm #

          "Existing" may be the painful part. I ordered my S1500 January 7. (I know, never order near the start of big shows.) Received it well after the announcement. What do you think of my chances for software updates? (hint: Fujitsu's S1500 page listed it as "no longer available" January 8.)

          Ah well, if it survives long enough to finish my archive boxes that will have justified the cost..

          • BrooksD January 17, 2013 at 2:14 pm #

            Well, you'll definitely get updates for new operating systems etc for a long time, so you shouldn't have to worry about that. Also, like I said, they're pretty good about releasing new features to existing scanners, as long as the scanners can handle it.

            But, this is all just me guessing. I have zero inside knowledge.

    • Joanne January 16, 2013 at 2:11 pm #

      Thanks for the replies – I need the pc to use scansnap and OCR the documents rather than to store the documents on so I think this means I don't really need the newer machine.

    • Bongd August 13, 2013 at 6:19 am #

      As of August 2, 2013, the ix500 can now scan to PC wirelessly. You just need to update the software and firmware over the internet.

  20. Robert January 16, 2013 at 10:34 am #

    Do you need a wifi connection to the Mac/PC if the scanner will scan straight to Dropbox etc. Surely Dropbox would push it to all devices connected to that account?

  21. Chris January 17, 2013 at 7:48 pm #

    Liked the review especially the part about no Twain. I bought a scanner with Twain about 10 years ago and never really did get the hang of it. I have about 5000 photos I want to put on the computer as JPEGs – would this be a suitable device or could you recommend something else? I have no business needs, basically might even sell it after downloading all the photos.

    • TheMaskedMan March 16, 2013 at 6:45 am #

      If all you want to do is load your documents into the input tray, press a button on the scanner and create PDF's or JPG's at blazing speeds… without opening software ect….this is the scanner.

  22. Etienne January 18, 2013 at 12:35 am #

    Hye,
    What the differences between "Scan to Evernote (Note)" and "Scan to Evernote (Document)" in the Quick Menu. PDF or JPEG note?!
    Thx

  23. Jon January 18, 2013 at 9:02 am #

    Thanks for the reviews and recommendation. Got the iX500 yesterday and it's pretty great hardware. ScanSnap Organizer isn't so great though. It amazes me that it can't–or won't–combine imported pdfs (like the e-mailed invoice) with scans (the check that paid the invoice).

    • BrooksD January 18, 2013 at 9:10 am #

      Yeah, the fact that ScanSnap Organizer only works with ScanSnap-scanned PDFs is a big limitation. I can only guess it is some licensing restriction with ABBYY FineReader or something. Not ideal.

  24. zac January 18, 2013 at 5:09 pm #

    Thanks for all the helpful information. I will probably buy one, but I may wait a bit to see if Best Buy or Costco get it just for ease of return or warranty option in case anything goes wrong with it.

    • BrooksD January 18, 2013 at 5:19 pm #

      Cool. I heard that in the US the ScanSnap is online-only, but given that I am in Canada I don't actually know.

  25. bill v January 21, 2013 at 6:14 am #

    my network will not permit the use of USB ports. There for the use of the ScanSnap with my galaxy note II phone as a wifi hotspot would be critical to the purchase. Is there anyway to find out if that will function since I do not have a wifi router in my office?

    • BrooksD January 21, 2013 at 6:45 am #

      Unfortunately, it needs access to a wi-fi network. It doesn't create its own. So you'd need to either have a wireless network of some sort, of you'd need permission to access a USB port.

  26. Kathy January 25, 2013 at 1:41 pm #

    I plan on using Paperport for my document organizer……anyone see an issue? I want to go paperless for 2013.

    • Anne February 2, 2013 at 2:14 pm #

      I have exactly the same question. Basically, should I use Paperport 14 which i already own, but have not used extensively yet, or is Evernote better? Or should I use both for different types of information storage. I could do with knowing which is better and the benefits/limitations of each system before I embark on my going paperless project. Any thoughts would really be appreciated.

  27. Jon January 26, 2013 at 3:30 pm #

    Is the ix500 suitable for scanning stacks of photos?

  28. staze February 3, 2013 at 6:50 pm #

    I can say that the software for the iX500 DOES work with the S1300 (would imagine it does with the 1500 as well).

    You can download it here: http://www.fujitsu.com/global/support/computing/p

    • BrooksD February 3, 2013 at 8:10 pm #

      Thanks staze!

  29. Joe March 24, 2013 at 9:30 am #

    What can we do to inspired Fujitsu to Mac lovers the same software as PC folks? At the very least, the quick menu organizer.

    What would be a good alternatives- for the organizer, you mentioned an alternative to adobe acrobat and for filler 2?

    • BrooksD March 24, 2013 at 9:50 am #

      The closest thing to ScanSnap Organizer on the Mac is probably Yep. Worth a trial.

  30. karen April 4, 2013 at 10:29 am #

    I have the Scansnap ix500 and love the feed speed. But, if a page gets jammed, I have to remove all the pages from the scan slot to free the jam. When I do this, the window on the laptop screen does not let me continue with the same scanning folder. It wants me to send what was scanned before the jam to its own location, then begin a new scan job with the pages left. Help?

  31. Roy April 4, 2013 at 5:37 pm #

    Can the iX500 software take a non-OCR PDF file and convert it to a PDF-OCR file?

    • BrooksD April 4, 2013 at 6:16 pm #

      On the Mac, in my extremely brief test the included FineReader Express will work on non-ScanSnap PDFs.

      On Windows, the included Adobe Acrobat will OCR PDFs, yes.

  32. Arlester Christian April 22, 2013 at 1:55 am #

    I have a stack of photos. Can I just put them in the feeder like ordinary paper/business cards? Nowhere in the operators manual or in any documentation I've seen has this been demonstrated. Any attention to this is appreciated in advance.

  33. Louis July 25, 2013 at 1:52 pm #

    In addition to scanning bank and brokerage house statements, I have a lot of newspaper clippings that I want to scan. Is the Snapscan the most suitable for this purpose? Also, what is TWAIN?

  34. Bill September 6, 2013 at 7:35 pm #

    Can someone give me a reality check on the ScanSnap Manager for Mac (ver. 6.1 L11):

    1. Why does it create an empty "ABBYY" folder in Home? (with three subfolders, all empty—basically a dupe of Application Support folders)

    2. Why are Profiles so hard to access? I click on the Dock icon, the Profiles appear. I move my mouse, the Profiles disappear. Click again, the Profiles may or may not hang around long enough to chose one (and if you do choose one, you get no feedback as to whether it is selected, unless of course you want to click again.

    So the reality check: has anyone else seen this behavior? And if so, why is no one complaining about it? This is really lame UI.

  35. kumar bala September 7, 2013 at 5:41 pm #

    Comments: hi brooks
    can notes software ( mac and pc )which is a better organizer software iam told, be compatible with the scansnap fufitsu ix500 whic is a better hardware .
    thanks

  36. John A. October 6, 2013 at 6:12 pm #

    Assuming I made a mistake in the order I put the papers to scan in the wrong order, After scanning can I reorder the scanned pages in the pdf?

    • BrooksD October 7, 2013 at 10:30 am #

      Sure thing. There are many programs that can edit PDFs, including Preview which is built into the Mac and ScanSnap Organizer which comes with the ix500 on Windows.  -Brooks

  37. Tyler Johnson October 13, 2013 at 11:28 am #

    One thing I noticed in my upgrade to the ix500 from the s1500 is that the scansnap organizer no longer has the "ACTION" tab on the ribbon. I am wondering where all that functionality went? I used to import all my files to organizer then drag and drop to scan to print to put into OneNote. Its gone now and I have no way of doing what I used to do easily. Am I missing something?

    • BrooksD October 17, 2013 at 2:54 pm #

      Hm, I was going to suggest that you drag the file to the "Application" section on the bottom left, but it doesn't seem like Scan To Print is there. I guess the only idea I have is Ctrl-P to print and then choose the OneNote printer? Will that work?

      • tyler johnson October 18, 2013 at 6:15 pm #

        I guess they didn't think you needed the option. I now just right click on the documents in the organizer and print. I might just look at Evernote since its not easy to import multiple files into OneNote now. Unless you choose 'unfiled' or one section and then move them all one at a time inside OneNote. Kind of defeats the purpose though.

  38. Barry September 19, 2014 at 5:48 am #

    The iX500 is now been out nearly 2 years now. What is the likelihood of a replacement soon? Worth buying one now – or waiting for newer model? How frequently do Fujitsu update their range?

    • Brooks Duncan September 19, 2014 at 11:16 am #

      Well, the S1500 (its predecessor) came out in 2009, so that upgrade took 4 years.

      I have absolutely zero inside knowledge, but I would guess that the S1300i will be upgraded before the iX500 is. If you are looking for a desktop scanner, I personally would not sit around waiting for an upgrade.

      My guess, again with no inside knowledge, is it will be a while. You are probably safe to buy now. (But don’t blame me if I am wrong!)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500, S1500M on to the ScanSnap iX500 | Note To Self - January 23, 2013

    [...] Duncan; Fujitsu ScanSnap iX500 Review; In His Blog; [...]

  2. Around the web for 16th January | DesParoz.com - October 21, 2013

    […] Fujitsu ScanSnap iX500 Review – The wireless scanning is a feature I’d love too in a portable scanner. If I didn’t have a ScanSnap S1500, I’d buy one of these today… […]

  3. Your Top Going Paperless Products Of 2013 • Tips To Learn How To Go Paperless | DocumentSnap Paperless Blog - January 16, 2014

    […] Fujitsu ScanSnap iX500. The ScanSnap desktop model is crazy fast and can scan wirelessly to a computer or mobile device. It was released in 2013, so it is not surprising that it was the winner this year. My iX500 review is here. […]

  4. Your Top Going Paperless Products Of 2012 • Tips To Learn How To Go Paperless | DocumentSnap Paperless Blog - February 20, 2014

    […] Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500 and S1500M. A few weeks ago, these two models were replaced by the ScanSnap iX500, which is now what I use. It is Fujitsu’s desktop model and is crazy fast. The reviews of the S1500 and S1500M were off the charts, and it looks like the iX500 will be similarly revered. My review is here. […]

  5. ScanSnap iX500 Now Supports Wireless Scanning To A Computer • Tips To Learn How To Go Paperless | DocumentSnap Paperless Blog - February 20, 2014

    […] a comment to his ScanSnap iX500 review, some obviously uninformed person wrote […]

Leave a Reply