Fujitsu ScanSnap S1300i Review

When you release a new scanner and the call it the ScanSnap S1300i (when its predecessor was the S1300), you are tacitly stating that this is more of an evolutionary release than a revolutionary one.

In a way, it is refreshing. Instead of throwing in a bunch of buzzwords and an attempted rebrand, Fujitsu is saying “So we have a scanner. People like it. We figured out a way to make it faster. Here you go.”

For me, this form factor of ScanSnap has always been the most interesting. Before the release of the ScanSnap S1100, the S1300 and its ancestors the S300 and S300M were marketed as the “mobile” models.

You could certainly carry them around, and many people did, but many people[1] didn’t use them as a mobile scanner at all. They wanted a fast scanner with duplex scanning, a document feeder, and a lower price point than the ScanSnap S1500.

The S1100 showed that there was a need for a true mobile scanner, and the S1300i is the newest entry in this “middle category” of ScanSnaps.

ScanSnap S1300i
ScanSnap S1300i

Fujitsu sent me a review unit to check out, so this review is split into two parts. Today I will cover the hardware itself, and in Part 2 covers the new software that was released with the S1300i I will have another post covering the software updates that Fujitsu has also released.

The Hardware

If you are familiar with the S1300 (here is my ScanSnap S1300 review if you are not), you know pretty much all you need to know about the S1300i. The form factor and look is exactly the same as the S1300, except that it now says “ScanSnap S1300i” on the top.

You plug the S1300i to a USB port on your computer, and then you can either plug in the AC adaptor to the wall or plug a second USB cable to your computer to supply the power.

The S1300i comes with a printed manual, the installation DVD, an AC adaptor, and two USB cables: one for data and one for power.

Speed

The main selling point of the ScanSnap S1300i is that it is faster than the S1300. Not as fast as the S1500 certainly, but it is 12 pages per minute instead of the S1300’s 8ppm.

I figured the best way to test this out is to run it side by side.[2] Through the magic of video, you can see the S1300 on the left and the S1300i on the right scanning a double-sided piece of paper.

The S1300i is certainly faster, and if you are scanning a large number of documents that can make a difference over time.

Quality

To judge quality for yourself, here are three documents that I scanned with the S1300. All scans were done at 300dpi.

Availability

The list price of the ScanSnap S1300i is $295. I don’t see it on any of the online sites yet, but I will update this post when it is available. It is available on Amazon.

If you have a ScanSnap S1300 and are happy with it, I am not sure that a 1.5x speed bump would be compelling enough to go out and buy the S1300i. However, if you are thinking of buying a scanner in this form factor and price range anyways, the increased speed and new software makes the ScanSnap S1300i that much more compelling.


  1. Myself included.  ↩

  2. Yes, I know the video is tilted. I didn’t notice until afterwards. Whoops.  ↩

19 Responses to “Fujitsu ScanSnap S1300i Review”

  1. Leanne July 5, 2012 at 9:12 am #

    Thanks for this review Brooks. I’m wanting to get a S1500M model. Is there a new improved S1500Mi on the way? I’d hate to pay $420 plus tax & shipping to see a new one on the market a few weeks later.

    • BrooksD July 5, 2012 at 9:23 am #

      Hi Leanne, I did ask about that and was told "nothing to report". I have to think that if a S1500M update was imminent they wouldn't bother with the S1300 update, but that is 100% conjecture. I have zero inside knowledge on that one.

      • Leanne July 11, 2012 at 9:47 am #

        Thanks Brooks.

        • Lowell August 10, 2012 at 11:19 am #

          I just saw that the Apple website store is out of stock on the S1500M until October 15, plus Walmart.com is no longer listing it at all suddenly. Just wondering why.

          • BrooksD August 10, 2012 at 11:28 am #

            Interesting! No idea, but Amazon does still have it in stock. I haven't heard anything or seen the usual Japanese Twitter chatter if something is coming, but that doesn't necessarily mean anything.<p style=”color: #A0A0A8;”>

  2. John W July 8, 2012 at 4:36 pm #

    How is this S1300i for scanning in loads of photos? Seems that 600×600 is fine for most all of my uses.

  3. Peg Manning July 13, 2012 at 1:19 am #

    Love the S1500. Worth every penny. Having trouble with the S1100 and S1300–laptops won't "recognize" them. Anyone else have this problem? Anyone have a soultion, or even some good guesses?

  4. Jerold July 25, 2012 at 1:41 am #

    I need the scan snap to be able to edit documents in Word and save them and then reintroduce the edited document back into a word product. I heard its good for that – Whats your opinion? Thanks .

    • BrooksD July 25, 2012 at 12:03 pm #

      Hi Jerold, I don't use it a lot, but the few times that I have, I've found the Scan to Word functionality of ScanSnap Manager to work fairly well.

  5. Sojourner July 30, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

    Is this double the weight of the 1300?

    • BrooksD July 30, 2012 at 5:11 pm #

      As far as I know, it is exactly the same. Why do you ask?<p style=”color: #A0A0A8;”>

  6. EHA July 19, 2013 at 10:15 am #

    IT IS NOW I YR LATER SINCE U REVIEWED THE FUJITSU 1300 I AND IN YOUR OPINION IS THERE ANOTHER BRAND AS GOOD OR BETTER IN THAT PRICE RANGE AND OFFERS MORE FEATURES

    • Bubba Jones April 26, 2014 at 6:48 am #

      Yes, I know this reply is quite late. All caps is an indication of yelling. Also, you will not see printed articles in a newspaper, magazine, book, and the like in all caps.

      If you learned typing on a typewriter did the teacher teach to use all caps? I never understand why folks use all caps, it is quite difficult to read.

      Cordially,

  7. Simon November 1, 2013 at 5:18 pm #

    great recommendation on the scanner – excellent and a "must have" piece of equipment for the home office. Thanks

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Software Review – ScanSnap S1300i And Friends | Tips To Learn How To Go Paperless | DocumentSnap Paperless Blog - July 5, 2012

    [...] few days ago, I wrote a hardware review of the newly-released ScanSnap S1300i. Today I will cover some of the new software that is being released along with the new [...]

  2. ScanSnap S1300i Now On Amazon | Tips To Learn How To Go Paperless | DocumentSnap Paperless Blog - July 23, 2012

    [...] the Fujitsu ScanSnap S1300i was announced in June, and I reviewed the S1300i in early July, helpful DocumentSnap reader John has pointed out to me that it is now available from [...]

  3. Your Top Going Paperless Products Of 2012 | Tips To Learn How To Go Paperless | DocumentSnap Paperless Blog - January 24, 2013

    [...] Fujitsu ScanSnap S1300i and S1300. Part-way through the year, The S1300 was replaced by the S1300i, which is a little faster. Combined, these two models took top spot for the third year in a row. I really like this model, and until recently it was the one I used. It is small but also has a document feeder and is double-sided. My review of the S1300i is here. [...]

  4. Classical Values » I hate scanning! Right? - August 18, 2013

    [...] A friend just told me about a newer scanner that scans pictures and documents at the rate of a whopping 12 pages per minute. [...]

  5. Your Top Going Paperless Products Of 2013 • Tips To Learn How To Go Paperless | DocumentSnap Paperless Blog - February 20, 2014

    […] Fujitsu ScanSnap S1300i. The S1300i is the “personal” model, and is usually the best seller through DocumentSnap. Until the iX500 came out, this was my main scanner model for years. It is small but also has a document feeder and is double-sided. My review of the S1300i is here. […]

Leave a Reply